Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Turning A Darker Shade of Dark

leave a comment »

Turning a darker shade of dark.

Turning a darker shade of dark.

This morning I changed up my habitual patterns here in Mexico. Instead of au naturel meditation in the garden, I went to the beach at sunrise to meditate where others were walking dogs, doing yoga, meditating or simply watching the day being born. Returning back the casa with my wife, it was time for morning coffee and then some focused writing before I took time out for sunbathing, something I normally reserve for the mid-afternoon as we usually go for a long beach walk at mid-morning.

This isn’t a photo of me, rather it was one that I found on the ‘Net through a search. My camera has been very quiet this year in Mexico. My focus is centered on doing the work necessary to move the healing of soul along, writing work, walking work, and the alchemical work of psychological transformation using heat, natural heat from the sun. This approach honours the body, the mind and the spirit. I am careful with what I am putting in my body, careful with what I feed my mind, and attend to as pure approach of self to spirit as possible.

I use the words “alchemical work” as I am using the fire of the sun to bake away impurities, to aid in the transformation of my being. Old habits, old beliefs, neurotic responses are turned to ash and out of those ashes I am rebuilding my “self.” The sun becomes the purifying fires that will rid my body and mind of toxins, allow me to become clean enough to approach whatever gods and goddesses need honouring if I am to become whole. In a way, it is not much different that a priest going through rituals in order to prepare himself for the holy work of transforming wine and bread into the body and blood of Christ. Or of an ancient Egyptian who would wash himself with all kinds of purifying agents while uttering the appropriate words and spells that would then open up his soul for the holy work of talking with the gods and goddesses of his time. One could also think of those holy men in India, sadhus, who through fasting and meditation and covering their naked bodies with ashes would finally be able to approach Krishna in one of his millions of incarnations and perhaps escape the curse of rebirth through their holy work of self-transformation.

With each day, I find myself working to transform myself from this broken old man into one who finally is able to be with the world in peace, perhaps being able to shine some light on others who need a moment of unconditional acceptance and spiritual peace. But, that is just part of my day. The rest of the time I am just your average married man in Mexico with a more beautiful than average woman.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

February 17, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

Leave a Reply

