Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Simple Life and The Places That Scare You

with 6 comments

farmers marketIt has been a few days since my last visit here. Life has pared itself down to a few basics with little initiative on my part to vary from these basics. As I mentioned in previous posts, those basics begin with morning meditation in the enclosed garden, usually in the sunshine. Cloudy mornings are rare. On days such as today, the meditation was delayed as it was farmer’s market day Beside the Catholic Church. Upon my return from the market, I joined my wife for morning coffee in the garden. We talked about the progress of my writing which she is reading in order to keep me apprised of the story’s flow. So far, so good as the story is keeping her interest. Then, it was time for a very short video to send to our youngest grandson before I finally set up my cushion in the garden for meditation.

As usual, this morning there was sunshine. Because I had delayed the start of my my meditation, it was warmer with the sun beaming higher in the sky. Long before twenty minutes was up, I felt beads of perspiration flowing off my face, arms and torso. Mindfulness meditation asks that I be aware of the space around me, my body, my mind and my heart. And in that awareness, I am not to judge what comes up, but to simply acknowledge its presence and then release it from my attention. For the first time I felt that the beads of sweat were like tears, my body’s tears that were helping to release those things within that cause blockage in my psyche. Perhaps it was because of the poor sleep I had last night, a sleep that was continually interrupted by scenes from the story I am writing. The idea of tears was heard, acknowledged and then released. Before it seemed time, twenty minutes had passed and it was time to make some breakfast.

Now, with the rest of the day still before me, we will go for our two hour beach walk (all walking and no dawdling along the way) ending the walk with a cool off swim in the Caribbean Sea before heading back to the casa for a return to writing, some lunch, some reading (Pema Chodron’s book, The Places That Scare You), some dedicated time for sun bathing as an alchemical act for transformation of my psyche (sweat the Devil out of me) using the fire of the sun, then perhaps a stroll down to the village square followed by an early evening meal and then more reading and writing in the evening within the casa we call our home here in Puerto Morelos. It’s a simple life in terms of content.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

February 26, 2014 at 9:46 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds idyllic to me! Enjoy!

    Jean Raffa

    February 26, 2014 at 6:26 pm

  2. Yes, it does sound lovely.

    Urspo

    February 26, 2014 at 10:10 pm

  3. Thank you for such a wonderful post. I really enjoyed the part where you talked about when you were in mindfulness meditation, you allowed whatever came up to come up without judgment or trying to change it. Too often I hear people talk about mindfulness meditation being something where you try to attain a sense of quiet. I don’t think that our psyche works that way, I don’t think that our bodies work that way. Again thank you!
    Jim

    Jim

    February 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    • I appreciate your comments, Jim. Thank you. 🙂

      rgl

      February 27, 2014 at 5:45 pm


Leave a Reply

