Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Friday Morning Beach Walk In Puerto Morelos

with 4 comments

Waling along the sea in Puerto Morelos.

Walking along the sea in Puerto Morelos.

As I walked the beach this morning with my wife I was noting as best I could, the world around me – the sea, the reflected light, the people passing and being passed, the sounds of the water and voices, the sand and washed up rocks and seaweed, as well as the changing scenery of empty fields, resort grounds, private homes and condos. It was a deliberate focus on taking it all in without resorting to an inner dialogue that wanted to weigh, judge and evaluate. I just wanted to be present and not miss what was all around me. I was making a deliberate effort to engage in mindfulness through a walking meditation. It is something I have been working on this winter in Puerto Morelos and Playa del Carmen.

For some reason, not unexpectedly when I think about it afterwards as I sit here to write, stuff comes up, thought that I need to admit are present and then release them. After all, this is what happens when I meditate on my cushion. Walking along, the idea of heaven popped into my head, specifically about the idea of a place for the righteous people. This idea came into my head after passing a number of people who reacted with smirks and body language that suggested that my beach attire was inappropriate – I was wearing a very brief bikini swim suit. They were wearing full bathing suits (women) and board shorts (men). It dawned on me that I didn’t react to their non-verbal responses to the way I was clothed. I used to respond in a variety of ways in the past, but that was all gone.

Heaven is about judgment, about classifying and weighing people. Along with the idea of a heaven there must exist a hell. I can’t seem to find it within me to promote others into a heaven or demote them into some punishing hell. All I want to do is accept them as they are and leave it at that. I even began to wish them a bit more joy in their own lives which seemed to be missing as voices talked critically of others as we passed by.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 7, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I look forward to attaining your non-judgmental perspective on the opinions of others. My self-consciousness is still more of a curse than a blessing! Sincere congratulations on transcending the debilitating unconscious power of the persona!

    Jean Raffa

    March 7, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    • LOL! As do I look forward to someday achieving a non-judgmental attitude and perspective on life, Jeanie. An odd moment of being non-judgmental is a teaser as to what could be if I persist in doing the work ahead of me. Thank you.

      rgl

      March 8, 2014 at 1:41 pm

  2. On the whole, Jungians don’t seem to be big believers in the concept of heaven/hell. It’s curious in a way for they accept without skepticism for every light there is a shadow. I suppose if you are a Jungian and believe in a Heaven than by default there is a Hell? I recall CGJ wrote some essays on this topic, but I can’t remember where in the books they are located. It would be worthwhile to re-read them.
    And speaking of ‘shadow elements’ vs. the light < wear sun screen!

    Urspo

    March 8, 2014 at 9:15 am

    • I wonder how many “Jungians” are also more than familiar with Buddhist psychology. I am finding so much that is in harmony between the two. Notice that I talk of Buddhism as a psychology rather than as a religion, dear Dr. Spo. I think of John Lennon’s “Imagine” when it comes to heaven and hell as a dualistic paradigm. Thanks as always for the comment.

      rgl

      March 8, 2014 at 1:39 pm


Leave a Reply

