Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Mindful Morning Moments

with one comment

Tibetan Meditation Bowl for timing one;s meditation.

Tibetan Meditation Bowl for timing one’s meditation.

It began much the same as every other morning here in Puerto Morelos in the garden at Casa Sorpresas. My wife and I were enjoying our coffee with her on the hammock and myself sitting on my chair near her. We chatted about the times of high and low tides and about small things that would potentially be done today. Above me, a bare-branched tree was the gathering place for a constantly changing gathering of birds, some engaged in trying to attract mates, others rummaging around for a meal of insects, and the rest just using the branches as a roost before flying on to the next destination. Among the gathering were Tropical Flycatchers, Hummingbirds, Tropical Mockingbirds, Woodpeckers, Grackles, Cowbirds, Blackbirds, and the occasional Dove.

As we sat there, most times in silence, the ground became busy with the constant darting of small lizards. Then, we heard a voice over a sound system, singing – a beautiful woman’s voice that was operatic with the sounds of longing, love, wistfulness and sadness all mixed in. It was a magical time as the sun moved closer bringing its rays to the spot where I sit to meditate. I gathered my cushion, ground mat, cushion cover and set up my meditation spot with care before returning into the casa for my tablet which I was going to use as my meditation timer, using a new application from Insight to mark the time with a Tibetan bell sound that would begin and end the meditation session.

As I sat there, eyes partly open and breathing, in and out, over and over with the breeze telling me that I was present in the world, the sunshine vanished behind overcast skies. I smiled knowing that behind those clouds the sky was still blue and the sun was still radiating its warm rays. The first gentle drops of rain fell and all was well. The small lizards gathered closer to where I was sitting, coming closer and staring before darting off to snap up an ant or other small insect. I saw it, I felt it, I heard it – I knew without thinking.

And now, meditation done, I am back in the casa while the rain continues to fall, stronger now than when I was outside. I can feel the peace withing me continue as I share these morning moments with you. Later, I will likely find myself out walking when the rain has stopped. Breathe in, breathe out, pause and then repeat. Allow the world to simply be without controlling and contorting it to fit an agenda. At peace.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 13, 2014 at 8:38 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lovely

    Urspo

    March 15, 2014 at 6:16 am


Leave a Reply

