Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Destination Is The Journey

with one comment

Meditation is a journey, a pilgrim's journey.

Meditation is a journey, a pilgrim’s journey.

As I write each day unfolding a story of how I experienced life from the dawn of my awareness of my self in the world, I realise that the whole time I have been present on this earth in this manifestation, I have been a pilgrim, an essence of being that has been in constant motion.

Now, this being a pilgrim growing up was not an intentional way of being in the world, but one of circumstance due to the family I was born into. By the time I was fifteen I had gone to school in five provinces, had called more than twenty different apartments or houses – home – and had wandered gypsy-like with my family through most of Canada and good portions of the United States. Roots were not set down anywhere along the way, at least roots in terms of a physical location. One has to go within to get grounded, a curious idea that isn’t as easy as it sounds.

All of that changed when I became a father and picked one location and one house in which to raise my three children with my wife. Strangely, being physically grounded there for twenty years didn’t change the fact that I was still wandering like some pilgrim on a journey that has no physical destination. I didn’t know that then. It was only when the last of our kids left home to live their own journeys that I found myself again physically drifting from place to place searching for an unknown something out there, something that couldn’t be found because it didn’t exist out there.

Meditation took that outer world journey and turned it into a different kind of journey, one that actually is not about destinations, but simply about being present in whatever location one finds oneself, about being present in whatever activity one is engaged in, and about being fully present with whomever is in one’s presence – virtually and face-to-face. For me, it became an admission that I am following a journey, making a lifelong pilgrimage where the pilgrimage is the destination.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 15, 2014 at 10:47 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you ever read one of my favorite poems, “Ithaka”? It speaks to this topic: the journey as the matter, not the destination.

    Urspo

    March 18, 2014 at 10:25 pm


Leave a Reply

