Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

NaPoWriMo 2014 – Day 2

with one comment

Indigo Bunting

Indigo Bunting

Yesterday was a different kind of day in spite of the fact that nothing different happened from start to finish. If I examine the trail of evidence I find that nothing done was different from most other Tuesdays – I meditated, I wrote, I read, I walked the beach, I sunbathed, I walked the same streets, watched garden lizards as they engaged in their lives in the garden – life was basically normal. Yet, the feeling remains that it was a different kind of day. Perhaps it was because I began the poetry challenge. Perhaps it is because I got to see an Indigo Bunting, a bird that hadn’t visited our garden since we arrived here two months ago. Perhaps it is because Tuesday night meditation had myself as the only participant outside of the two owners of the guesthouse where usually more than a dozen meet each week. Perhaps it was simply because I found myself as being different.

What is the authentic self? I’ve been thinking of that this morning and know that this will be the central idea of the poem that is about to be written.

~ ~ ~

I Am Here

Breathing in. I know I am breathing in
the air rushes in and somehow bridges the barrier between
self and air, with air becoming self, and self becoming air.
Breathing out, I know I am breathing out
sensing a part of self rushing out to fill the spaces
to become part of those spaces.

Sun and shadow take turns washing the body
within which I sit, a body that breaths in and out
aware that I am here in this body
aware that I am breathing
aware that I am the breath.

The moment I lose focus on breath
I find myself rushing through landscapes
hinting of places I have been
or places where I want to be
or places that have yet to be,
I cease being here for me, for you.

Again, I become aware of
a breath entering
a breath leaving
and a tiny pause
that teaches me
I am here.

2014 04 02 – Puerto Morelos, Casa Sorpresas

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 2, 2014 at 12:16 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Robert,

    I noticed your book, On the Broken Road, and it looks like a genre we might be interested in. Do you have a copy we can read? Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,
    Julie
    California Times Publishing

    Julie Vo

    April 2, 2014 at 12:59 pm


Leave a Reply

