Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Identification With A Persona

leave a comment »

In search of self

In search of self

Again, the eternal question about identity surfaces. The more I meditate, spend time in nature, and study the human psyche, the more I am coming to realise that I am more than I think I am. I know that there isn’t a single living being that can answer this question about my beingness. As time goes by I am continually surprised at what I uncover about myself. It is as though I am wandering through a treasure chest filled with an infinite number of faces which I can put on knowing that each of these faces belong to me and that I am all of them, and more. Each of these faces are the faces of persona – teacher, father, husband, lover, etc. – faces that show just one tiny aspect of the whole.

Time has taught me that there is more to my identity, the wholeness of who I am, than any of the personae that I have worn in the roles I have lived and continue to live in relationship to other people. Stepping out of the treasure chest of faces, I meet something that has no face but is as real as any of my personae. The inner spaces behind my mind show me portals into something undefinable, something that strangely appears to have no boundaries. It is almost as if the separation of self from other ceases to exist. And it is with all of this that I come to realise that I am not only what you see and know of me.

“One could say, with a little exaggeration, that the persona is that which in reality one is not, but which oneself as well as others think one is. In any case the temptation to be what one seems to be is great, because the persona is usually rewarded in cash.” [Jung, CW 9i, par. 220]

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 13, 2014 at 9:14 am

Leave a Reply

