Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Birthday Gift To My Son

with 5 comments

My son and my grandson - Happy Birthday, Dustin.

My son and my grandson – Happy Birthday, Dustin.

It’s my son’s birthday, today. He is a father in his own right and has made me a proud grandfather as he raises his son with complete and unconditional love. It’s his turn to live the role of father and wonder if he is making all the right decisions as the years go by.

It is my gift to my son, today on his birthday, to simply say that there are no right or wrong decisions, just decisions based on what we can do out of love for our children. No one is perfect or can be perfect, but all of us can be authentic.

Since I am writing a poem each day this month for NaPoWriMo, it only fitting that today’s poem talks about fathers and sons. Happy Birthday, Dustin – love, Papa.

Fathers and Sons

A baby lies quietly in his arms
a boy child, his only son.
Perhaps this child will end
the cycle that is trapped
in repetitive cycles, generational
where the sins of fathers
are passed onto sons
for generations beyond counting.

The boy was born in the spring
a time of hope and renewal.
Perhaps the wheel of Samsara
has turned its last time
with the birth of this boy.

Taking ownership of shadow
a father bends under the weight
of sins of his father, and the fathers
going back into the dim corridors
of the past, carrying the unfinished
and unlived dreams of these men
these ancestors who all look
for release from the
unending repetition of
haunting shadows.

As a father, have I claimed
my own unfinished business
my own unlived dreams?
Have I exposed all the shadows
so that my son’s load is
diminished?

And now, he is a father who
must wrestle with all the shadows
that have gone before him
shadows that have yet to be
released from their imprisonment.

2014 04 26 – Elrose, House of White

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 26, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 🙂 thanks

    Dustin

    April 26, 2014 at 3:05 pm

  2. May his next year be his best one yet.

    Urspo

    April 26, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    • I echo your sentiments, good Dr. Urspo. I am glad that you got to meet him a few years ago. I am a very proud father of this young man.

      rgl

      April 26, 2014 at 6:48 pm

  3. Wonderful poem.
    Beautiful son and grandson
    🙂

    margie

    June 2, 2014 at 11:47 pm


Leave a Reply

