Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Ego Stepping Aside And Just Being

with 2 comments

Beneath the green mantle, there is a curious transformation in process

Beneath the green mantle, there is a curious transformation in process

The past few weeks have been more about sitting without forcing life to happen. It has been a different time as I have had no expectations and simply allowed life around me to unfold as it always does. Perhaps this is the most honest way of being, having ego step aside instead of trying to control self, other, and the universe.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

June 5, 2014 at 11:39 am

Posted in Jungian Psychology

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have just read this and your previous two posts and as always, find myself deeply touched by your raw honesty. I can relate to all that you write and can’t help but remember that the ‘cycles’ are an integral part of our lives. What we slowly reveal of our shadow is exactly how magical and mysterious life is meant to unfold, as we are ready, as we build a foundation of strength that can support the shadow, with love.

    Those of us who have lived through trauma in our childhoods have an especially tough time developing a strong sense of self. There is no one to blame, as you say, since it seems that the events are generational and those who damaged us were also damaged.

    I am in the midst of my Master’s thesis, topic, Psychological Incest. I am 49 and slowly peel layer after thin layer of understanding off of the hidden shadow. I also have struggled with weight issues all of my life and am only now beginning to understand the relationship between my sense of self and my physical being. I have repeatedly in my life, through therapy, thought I had gotten to the bottom of things, lost weight and then had the whole cycle repeat. Layer by layer, just like weight. Thank you for your courage in sharing your posts. It is always startlingly pleasing to hear someone else put into words a similar experience.

    Kelly

    June 7, 2014 at 2:17 pm

  2. I’m at home alone on a Sunday evening, listening to the rain, which is coming down with thunder and lightening, and I can see the wind blowing the trees. What you write about letting go and “just being” is appropriate and helpful for me just now as I am coming through a period of anticipation, new possibility, and disappointment: though I was not so certain I wanted the new possibility. Not to feel badly about the direction one’s life takes and does not take, and not to force one’s circumstances, is good counsel right now. Thanks, as always, for your writing.

    Allen

    June 8, 2014 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

