Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Broken Boy On The Broken Road

with 5 comments

The cover of my latest book,an autobiography of my first 20 years.

The cover of my latest book,an autobiography of my first 20 years.

I have finally wrapped up the work of many years, the telling of my story from infancy to the moment I left home at the age of 20 in search of a whole life. The people in the book are all real people though the names of everyone in the book, well almost everyone, has been changed in order to protect those that are still living, my brothers and sisters and other extended family members.

As I worked through this story, time after time, I realised that I would never find all the puzzle pieces to end the story. But then, it isn’t necessary to have all the pieces. What is important in telling one’s story is to listen to one’s own words and dig deeper into what those words evoke. In this way, emotional affect is reduced and going forward in peace is achieved. I owe thanks to so many for the unfolding of this story. My family, especially my wife, have listened patiently to the tales. My therapists and analysts have also played a huge role with keeping me safe as the images emerged and the story began to write itself.

I now gift all of you with a free copy of the e-book A Broken Boy On The Broken Road.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 22, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am speechless…I downloaded the free copy of your book that you provided and I have not stopped reading since last night, could not stop reading. I really have no words for the human kinship I feel with you, for the courage you have in writing your story, for all in it that I can relate to, for the clues you have dropped in your analysis of the human life story. Thank you for sharing feels highly inadequate to say, perhaps thank you for being the catalyst for my own continuing exploration that was begun some time ago. I was born in Sault Ste Marie, I am now in BC. I am 49 and completed my Master’s in Counselling Psych last year, clearly later in life. I am a psychotherapist, this was my dream…but I am still struggling…which perhaps is what makes it all worthwhile. Love to you Robert

    Kelly

    October 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    • I am truly grateful that the book has some value for you, Kelly.

      rgl

      October 26, 2014 at 10:10 am

  2. Robert, I wrote a review on Amazon. I read it in a day and a half on my Kindle. I agonize through it all and had such contempt for your father and the impulsiveness of so many. I treasure my upbringing that was free of the abuse, pressures and transience of your youth. Solid Iowa farm upbringing. I was moved by your innocence and tormented by the countless betrayals. I rarely had a hand applied to me and that was in those 3-5 years. You painted such a clear picture of your crisscrossing travels in Canada and the U.S. What a terrible odyssey of survival, hunger and poverty. I look forward to more of the skyclad experience (hopefully) in the next book. Ah, skinnyidipping days. That you survived your ordeal intact and had the facility to write about is comforting. Some much to be learned about how you mind countered and coped with all the experiences.

    Lawn Griffiths

    March 28, 2015 at 10:38 am

  3. I would absolutely love to read your free copy of the memoir of your first 20 years. I have written one of my first 17 years. I need to change all the names. My sister even wants me to use a pseudonym for myself. I tried the link to your book but it no longer works. I hope you can tell me how to get it?

    Synergy

    June 3, 2015 at 7:38 pm

  4. Wow! Congratulations! I found “Broken Boy on a Broken Road” in Amazon.com! I bought a copy for my Kindle Fire. Thank you — I eagerly look forward to reading it.

    Synergy

    June 3, 2015 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

